450th Anniversary Of The Spanish Riding School

June 25, 2015 Austria Write a Comment 3,950 Views

Celebrating The 450th Anniversary Of The Spanish Riding School In Vienna.

Vienna is known for so many great sights and institutions. There are several must visits, yet too many to name them all. One of these sights is definitely the Spanish Riding School with its famous Lipizzaner horses.

The Spanish Riding School in Vienna is the only institution in the world where classical horsemanship according to the Renaissance tradition of the Haute Ecole has been practiced and cultivated for almost half a millennium! The objective of classical horsemanship is to study the natural steps and movements of the horse bringing it to the highest level of Haute Ecole by systematic training. This results in an unparalleled harmony between rider and horse, as only Vienna’s Spanish Riding School is presenting it nowadays.

This Friday, June 26, the world famous Spanish Riding School in Vienna is celebrating its 450 year anniversary.  It’ll be a historic event with a special anniversary gala of the Lipizzaner horses live from the Heldenplatz in Vienna. You’ll get two hours of pure Lippizaner dressage highlights. And I’m stoked to be a part of it, thanks to ServusTV.

Many of you won’t be here to enjoy the show, but you can still follow this event easily via your computer or mobile device. The Austrian TV station will broadcast this event live and for free via web stream.

When And Where.

When: Friday, June 26, 2015

  • Europe: 6:55 pm CET | 6:55 pm GMT
  • USA: 12:55 pm EST | 09:55 am PST
  • Japan: 01:55 am JST
  • China: 00:55 am CST
  • Australia, New Zealand: 02:55 am AEST | 04:55 am NZST

Where: www.servustv.com/lippizaner-live

Bereiter-auf-Schulhengsten-Spanische-Hofreitschule-Stefan-Seelig
Each horse has its own rider at the Spanish Riding School. Together they built are perfectly trained team. © Spanische Hofreitschule |Stefan Seelig
Capriole-unter-dem-Reiter-Spanische-Hofreitschule-Rene-van-Bakel
In the capriole, the horse jumps from a raised position of the forehand straight up into the air, kicks out with the hind legs, and lands more or less on all four legs at the same time. It requires an enormously powerful horse to perform correctly, and is considered the most difficult of all the airs above the ground. © Spanische Hofreitschule | Rene van Bakel
Pas-de-Deux-Spanische-Hofreitschule-Michael-Rzepa
A pas de deux is an equestrian performance using two horses. The horses perform dressage movements, usually mirroring each other, and almost always accompanied by music. Pas de deux are often performed in exhibitions at special events, and are also used by professional acts, particularly the Spanish Riding School. © Spanische Hofreitschule | Michael Rzepa
Schulquadrille-Spanische-Hofreitschule-Rene-van-Bakel
The performance finishes with the “School Quadrille”, consisting of 8 riders working in formation at the walk, trot, and canter, with flying changes, pirouettes, the half pass and the passage. The ride is performed to classical music. Lasting 20 minutes, the School Quadrille of the Spanish Riding School is the longest and most difficult in the world. © Spanische Hofreitschule | Rene van Bakel
Appreciate this Story?

Go tell your friends by sharing or tweeting it.

This Story is Tagged With:


Start a Discussion